June 23, 2016 – German sprinter Andre Greipel will lead an experienced Lotto team at the Tour de France from July 2 to 24, the Belgium outfit confirmed on Thursday.

AFP/Yuzuru Sunada

RELATED: Porte and Van Garderen Both Lead BMC at Le Tour

Greipel, winner of four stages last year, is among eight of the nine riders from the team who also raced in the 2015 edition with Jurgen Roelandts returning after skipping last year’s event.

“We’re targeting a stage win with Andre Greipel,” said team manager Marc Sergeant, adding that French rider Tony Gallopin would have free reign in some stages with two other riders Adam Hansen and Thomas De Gendt having their chance to impress.

Denmark’s Lars Bak, injured in a fall in the Giro at the end of May, has been given the all clear by doctors.

Lotto team for Tour de France: Lars Bak (DEN), Thomas De Gendt (BEL), Jens Debusschere (BEL), Tony Gallopin (FRA), André Greipel (GER), Adam Hansen (AUS), Greg Henderson (NZL), Jürgen Roelandts (BEL), Marcel Sieberg (GER)