Get to Know Pro Cyclist Jolien D’hoore

With almost 50 road wins to her name, Jolien D’hoore will no doubt be familiar to many. But in this Q&A, the Team SD Worx rider and former Belgian champion provides insight into some lesser-known facts about her.

Interview by Voxwomen | Images: Getty

Where are you originally from?

I’m from Belgium, and was born in Gent.

Where do you live now?

I live in Dikkele, a little town that sits between Gent and Oudenaarde.

Jolien d’Hoore
Jolien D’hoore. Image: Getty

How did you get started in cycling?

I started out a while ago, when I attended a summer cycling camp for children.

At what point did you realize that cycling was more than a hobby?

I had this realization when I qualified to participate in the Olympics for the very first time. That was for the London Games in 2012.

What’s your most cherished memory in your sporting career to date?

I’d have to say that my best memory so far is when I won the bronze medal in the Omnium at the Rio Games in 2016, a really unforgettable experience.

What are your goals for the Olympics?

I’d really like to win a medal in the Madison.

Jolien d'Hoore
Jolien D’hoore. Image: Getty

What will your training look like as the Games approach?

I’ll focus on more specific training on the track, but I’ll also combine that with road racing and of course the gym.

Which athletes inspire you?

I’d say that the athletes who inspired me the most are my teammates.

What keeps you motivated during difficult times?

My goals during the season and the races that I’m targeting to win are what keeps me motivated when the going gets tough. Specifically, my goals for this year are the spring Classics, the Belgian National Championships, and the World Championships in Leuven.

Advice for younger riders striving for the Olympics?

I’d tell young riders that you will inevitably experience ups and downs, but you’ve always got to maintain your trust in the process and the journey.

If you weren’t a pro rider, what would you be doing now?

I’d probably be working as a physio, coach or personal trainer.

Favorite coffee ride snack?

Banana bread!

Favorite coffee ride stop?

It’s a place called Donza, which is in Deinze, Belgium

What’s your spirit animal and why?

My spirit animal would have to be a cat, because they have their own will, are independent, love adventure and also perhaps because they love to chill out and eat!

One thing you can’t live without on the road?

My own breakfast tupperware container.

For more coverage of women’s cycling, head to voxwomen.com